Happy National Puppy Day

March 23rd is officially National Puppy Day. National Puppy Day was created to bring awareness to pet adoption and to end the cruelty of puppy mills.

If you are looking for a new family member, please consider adoption from a shelter. Any shelter will do and there are many outlets to find that perfect pet. Take a look at Petfinder. This website lets you search by particular fields to find a pet that you are looking for that is already in a shelter.

If adopting a new pet is not something you can do at this moment, please consider donating to the ASPCA. This organization helps out all kinds of animals.

You can also go to The Animal Rescue Site which allows you to click a button that donates sponsor money to a shelter for food and care. After clicking, you can set up a daily email reminder that will alert you to click everyday.

This site is also really cool because you can shop for all kinds of gifts. The money you spend on gifts will go towards feeding and caring for animals in shelters. I bought all my friends their Christmas presents on here and in turn was able to help out animals in need.

In observance of National Puppy Day I am posting pictures of my three, wonderful ADOPTED dogs.

Cabela

My husband, then fiance, was wanting a Lab to take duck hunting. For Christmas I decided I would get him one and I began looking on Petfinder. We found Cabela at a shelter in Springtown, TX. She is the best, well-trained dog I have ever owned. Recently, she tore her CCL (aka. the ACL in a human). We didn’t even think twice about having the surgery done and now, three months later, she is doing great. She is still hopping around on it a little, but healing well.

Molly

I was looking for a dog for me because my husband had Cabela and I was lonely. I found Molly on Petfinder.com also and, again, we drove out to Springtown, TX to save her. She was at a Rottweiler rescue, in a cage, with another puppy. She looked up at me as the other puppy pounced on her and I knew she was mine. I think she is a cross between a red heeler and some kind of terrier.  She is fun, crazy and was the center of my photography for some time. I think she is probably the most photographic dog in the world. I often think I need to get her in to dog modeling.

Jesse

Jesse is not necessarily a rescue but I do think I saved her from a life not as great.

When my brother-in-law’s dog, Chole, got pregnant I figured my husband would not let me have another dog. After the puppies were born and I saw the way my husband looked at Jesse, I knew she would be ours. She was an angel, and still is. She is a little over 4 months old and is learning so well. She isn’t having nearly as many “accidents” as I had anticipated.

This entry was posted in Arts and Life, Pets, Portraits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.